Cool Girl style: the leather jacket

by P.

For many years now, the leather jacket has been a staple item in any cool girl’s closet. I can understand why: it’s versatile, which makes it perfect for “off-duty” days and times when you’d have to dress it up a little bit and it evokes a sort of rocket-chick-chic mood that girls like Behati Prinsloo and Dakota Johnson pull off so well.

Dakota Johnson being the ultimate rocker-girl-chic (Photo taken from Vogue)

It is also the perfect mid-season attire. Spring and Fall have the perfect not-quite-warm-not-yet-cold weather that calls for a light perfecto, skinny jeans and some worn-in leather boots. Those easy, yet alluring style choices have had my heart since I became aware of them, and I started to search for the perfectly loose, stylish jacket for myself.

While shopping for them and searching for inspiration pictures, though, I have stumbled across a number of articles selling exactly the “quintessential cool girl look” I wrote about previously. And it is cool! I too want to look like I could hop on a motorcycle and ride through some seaside road in Italy, or like the badass member of a girl-gang, or an off-duty superheroine.

Unfortunately, I have yet to find a jacket that actually makes me feel like either of those things. Between my love for comfortable clothes and my lack of confidence when it comes to looking badass, buying a leather jacket hasn’t been a fructiferous task. However, this is such a beloved article of clothing that I nearly feel guilty for not having found one yet (at least not one I can afford without feeling extra-guilty).

What I like about this trend, though, is that it feels like something I can pull off (even if I haven’t exactly the perfect fit for me yet). Unlike some passing trends that seem to require a perfect bikini body, a fat bank account or unlimited access to second-hand clothing (and time to scan through them in search for perfectly conserved brand items) the leather jacket looks good in different types of people, it’s pretty much genderless, and it just seems easy to pull off (and friendly to vegans, since faux/vegan leather has already reached the market).

Searching for a leather jacket will probably turn into a saga (I can be especially annoying when it comes to certain items of clothing), but I can only hope that somewhere out there there’s a jacket that gives me that effortlessly stylish air I’m seeking (even if, along with it, I’m wearing age-old jeans and a white t-shirt).

